Image - James Walsh, Anthropic bench, 2020. Image courtesy of James Walsh

The Australian Furniture Design Award

The Australian Furniture Design Award (AFDA) is a biennial award that celebrates the most interesting furniture and lighting design being created in Australia today, with a particular emphasis on new design ideas, critical and creative thinking, sustainability, material development and research that explores innovative production processes.

The Award is Australia’s richest furniture design prize. The winner receives $20,000; an invitation to develop a commercial range or product with Stylecraft; and a two-week professional development residency at JamFactory in Adelaide.

In 2020 Sydney-based designer James Walsh won the award with Anthropic bench, which combined rammed earth with recycled glass filings to produce a sustainable and hard-wearing composite. 

Registrations have now closed for AFDA 2022

The winner will be announced and the realised designs by the shortlisted competitors exhibited at Stylecraft’s showroom during Melbourne Design Week 2022. Follow @ngvmelbourne and @stylecraftfurniture on Instagram or subscribe for Melbourne Design News updates here.